Marywood Athletics officially announces move to Atlantic East Conference


John Ferraro

Last semester, The Wood Word confirmed reports of Marywood University’s departure from the Colonial States Athletic Conference (CSAC).

In an interview on TV-Marywood’s “Beyond the Arch,” Director of Athletics and Recreation Dr. Mary Jo Gunning confirmed the original report by The Scranton Times.

Now, the official website of the Marywood Pacers is officially announcing the move.

According to the announcement, seven schools have received approval from the NCAA to form the new Atlantic East Conference (AEC) effective September 1, 2018 and to begin competition in the fall.

These seven schools include Marywood University, Cabrini University, Gwynedd Mercy University, Immaculata University, Marymount University, Neumann University and Wesley College.

“We are all excited to bring institutions together that share similar missions, values and beliefs along with the common understanding that athletics play an important role at our institutions,” said Chair of the Atlantic East President’s Council Dr. Matt Shank in Marywood’s announcement.

Gunning made a similar statement on “Beyond the Arch.”

“The schools that we will be aligned with are very much like Marywood, similar mission, tuition and academic prowess,” said Gunning.

The Atlantic East will initially sponsor and host championships for 19 sports, but will not be eligible for automatic bids to the NCAA Tournament until the 2020 to 2021 seasons.

A search for the founding commissioner will begin on March 5.

Contact the writer: [email protected]

Twitter: @JohnFerraroTWW