Alumnae join PA cabinet

Paul Capoccia, Community Editor

Two Marywood alumnae have joined the Pennsylvania State Cabinet.

Gov. Tom Wolf has chosen Theresa Osborne as his new head of the Department of Aging, and Dr. Karen Murphy has become the acting secretary for the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

Both nominations come as a result of Tom Wolf filling his cabinet following his victory over incumbent Governor Tom Corbett.

Osborne received a bachelor’s degree in Social Work and a master’s degree in health service administration, while Murphy received a master’s in business administration.

Osborne previously served as chancellor and chief operating officer of the Diocese of Scranton. Before that, she was executive director of the Lackawanna County Department of Human Services and executive director of the Lackawanna County Area Agency on Aging. She is currently executive director of the Luzerne/Wyoming Counties Area Agency on Aging, according to

Murphy was the founder and chief executive officer of Physicians Health Alliance, Inc. (PHA). Murphy led an integrated medical group practice within Moses Taylor Health Care System. Murphy currently serves as a clinical faculty member in the medicine department at The Commonwealth Medical College, according to the PA Department of Health’s website.

“I am overwhelmed at where this “dream career” has led me,” said Osborne. “The opportunity to be nominated by Governor Tom Wolf to serve as Secretary of Aging for the Pennsylvania Department of Aging is an incredible honor.”

Marywood University is incredibly proud of its alumnae moving into such great positions and is excited for what each of their futures hold.

“It is with great pride that we congratulate Dr. Murphy and Ms. Osborne on their state cabinet appointments. These women are shining examples of how a Marywood education can help establish and advance your professional career. Their leadership roles in the Wolf administration will impact Pennsylvania’s greatest resource: its citizens,” said Ann Montoro Williams, director of alumni engagement.

Contact the writer:

[email protected]