SGA holds election for executive cabinet


Photo credit: Jeremy Stanton

Briana Ryan, News Editor

Old and new faces will be appearing on the Student Government Association (SGA) executive cabinet next year.

In an email to students on Wednesday, Office of Student Engagement Director Michael Kalage announced that next year’s executive cabinet members will include:

  • President Alexis Palys
  • Vice President Austen Miller
  • Chief Funding Officer Megan Belzner
  • Secretary Matt Wojciechowski
  • Communications Manager Taylor Troiani

All cabinet members ran unopposed for their positions except for Troiani, who faced off against one other candidate during the virtual election held on Tuesday.

Next year will be the second year that Palys and Wojciechowski have served on the cabinet as president and secretary respectively. Palys said she is looking forward to working with the other members next year.

“I am very pleased with those who have been elected, because I know how dedicated they are to campus and how much work they have done in SGA already,” said Palys. “We are all excited to get back on campus and get all the projects we unexpectedly were unable to complete this semester, finished.”

According to Kalage, there was a decrease in voter participation this year compared to last year. Kalage said he believes this was likely due to the university’s closure.

“Students are still adjusting to their new online classes and receiving a lot of other email communications from the University with updates and other information,” said Kalage. “This is all on top of trying to acclimate to being back home or away from campus and spending time with their families or trying to keep in touch with their friends, so it’s understandable that students just might not have had the time to vote this year.”

A second election to fill the 19 representative positions will take place electronically on April 23. Applications to run for a representative position were emailed to all students and are due April 10.

Contact the writer: [email protected]

Twitter: @BrianaRyanTWW